Forgotten Pass…

Saturday, 1st October…a day I won’t forget any time soon….
I happened to be on duty, scheduled to report at 7a.m…quite early for a Saturday…no problem though.
Early enough,I left the house, getting to work in time wouldn’t be a problem.

It was like half way to work place that it clicked within me that I could have forgotten something…something important…you know the kind of instincts that just hit so strongly you fear the confirmation of your fears…

I didn’t want to check in my handbag for the confirmation of my fears…that I could have forgotten my pass..the one card one needs to pass through every other door at work place, starting at the main entrance!

As I drew closer to my destination, I had to check…What a relief it would have been if I could have found my swipe card somewhere in the handbag…it wasn’t the case…My card was no where to be found…ascertaining that I had forgotten it…

‘If there could be anything I could do to miraculously have it with me, I could do exactly that…’ …I thought…

Getting to the gate, I told the guard on duty that I had forgotten my pass…she directed me to go see the chief security guard on duty…but first, I had to call my colleague who I was going to release to come to the main entrance to and tell them that I indeed work in that department…

Heading to the the chief guard on duty, I was hoping for the best even in that could be worst situation- being disallowed in…

I briefly explained to him what the matter was..instead of getting mad at me, he smiled, and went on to narrate about his predicament of forgetting his pass just yesterday…

I was allowed in, to share my colleagues’ pass for the day. Luckily, one’s inside the department’s floor, one can stay indoors all day long…no need to go outside, necessitating door opening cards…

That was close…but a miracle happened…It’s not everyday that a case of a forgotten pass is excused…

I thank God for that chief guard on duty, who having been in a similar situation the previous day, he well identified with my problem…

From that experience, I’d rather forget something else, but not the pass…

Leave a Reply

