Time Keeping…So Difficult??

 

A few weeks ago, we started the Women of Impact (WOI) Bible study (BS). The Bible study started very well. Being a BS mother of seven and also coordinating the BS at large it’s been quite a Challenge since then, with so much follow ups and communication to do with the rest of the moms, the WOI Ladies Ministry leaders not forgetting keeping in touch with my daughters over weekdays.

The second and third studies went well. It was on the Sunday when we had the 3rd Study that my daughters and I agreed we have a sort of bonding and sharing session on the Sunday that was to follow, while on the 4th study. These sessions are very much encouraged by our leaders since enhancement of relationship among the ladies is the essence of the BS. What happens is that you set a day when you can have ample of time together other than the rushed BS hour. I organized it all, I even communicated over the week before last Sunday to remind and confirm to them that the plans were still on. I told them at what time we were to meet and the place we were to be at. I was so blessed to have gotten a very nice room at Church which used to be an office for us to meet at other than the usual open air BS under the tents where there are quite a number of BS groups.

The day came that was last Sunday, March 20th. I was all set. I love being on time, I’m never late and I hate lateness. I got to Church very early, long before the meeting time so that I could get the meeting place ready, despite the weather. Mind you I had slept very late having gotten home way past midnight after having been to help a friend grade and pack flowers for export…. I was to serve us breakfast during that session, which was well taken care of. With everything ready what was left to do was to wait for my daughters to come for our mother-daughter, sister-sister time…..

The minutes passed on, no one showing up before time, a few minutes past the set meeting time, one of my daughters showed up who is also the group’s time keeper. We then waited for the others as time passed by….two of them sent text messages that they couldn’t make it…this sending of messages on the day of the function when already it was time for the meeting was annoying enough….We waited on for the others to show up. It wasn’t until it was too late that they came. Time was so much gone that we couldn’t have our bonding session. It was too late when they came that we rushed through the BS lesson of the day!

Honestly, I was so disappointed, even upset with that happening. I really tried hard to keep my calm…Luckily for me, as soon as we were done with the BS, a young girl who’s my friend called me to tell me she was around and would like us to meet before Church service began. Last time I was with her, she had so admired my bracelet, and I promised to get one for her. I had it with me, so I gave it to her. She was so excited! She made my day as we chat on lots of stuff….she’s great company! She really cheered me up with her unending stories and questions….kids are very interesting….

©Felicity



1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Koos Faro
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 21:22:36

    It can sometimes be very different than you expect and what you have prepared. It is often a test for yourself. – I also have such experiences. Once I organized an evangelistic evening which was well attended, but nothing happened. The next time only one man attended the service. I was disappointed, but that evening this man gave his life to Jesus! – Specify what happens to God and let him find out. Trust Him and thank God for kids like the one you met that Sunday. God bless you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

