What Report Will It Be…?

 

The car was moving quite fast but my two lady friends and I had been chatting as we rode on. It was on the day on which the sad news that one of our pastors had lost his wife- Sunday 6th March. We were headed to another lady’s place for a home visit.

“I’ve known Joy since my College days”, said Eunice who was at the co-driver’s seat. “You mean you went with Joy to College?”,  Faith, the one who was driving asked. “Yeah, we went to College together. She used to be the Chairlady for the Christian Union(CU) at college, and besides that, she could volunteer as a Sunday School teacher at various places anytime. In fact, she introduced and talked me into teaching Sunday school, and gave me a class to teach at *I can’t recall the name of the place she said*” “Joy has always been so devoted and…..” she continued….

At some point, I went all quiet, got lost in my own thoughts, and was thinking about my aunt Susan who passed on so many years ago. If I were to eulogize her in writing, it would run into unending pages…!

With all that racing in my mind and being brought back to what was being said about Joy, I got thinking….Well it’s real, it happens….then what follows after that…after one is a goner? One will obviously be talked about. For my aunt…words can’t be enough to describe how I knew her as young a I was those so many years ago, the memories are still fresh. For Joy, I gather of the worthy, dedicated life she lived and more as I hear and listen to tributes to her…

What about me? What will there be to say about me about me? What kind of report will there be for me from others, anyone who’ll ever have come my way in this life? What will be said of me? Is there something I can do, when I still have time around here, something can positively better/ enhance my report?

When I’m gone, I want to have a wonderful report of me…. With that in focus, I chose to abide by the Word. A certain verse comes t o mind, Colossians 1:10 ….live a life worthy of the Lord, please Him in every way; bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, I choose to live by this among many other verses….

What about you??

©Felicity

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Koos Faro
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 13:23:08

    Thanks for writing and thank you for these thoughts! Let us build our faith and do what God says. “Be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life.” Revelation 2:10b

    Reply

Leave a Reply

