It Could Be me…

 

Well, it happens, it’s real, that’s death. Do I just hear someone pass on, get buried, the end of story? Do I just dismiss it as, ‘their time came…’? Do I just utter ‘May you RIP’  farewell to someone, of which one won’t even hear? Do I just recollect, hear, and read about what one did when s/he was around? Do I just flip through those obituary pages unthinkingly, or may be just sympathetically, feeling sorry for the departed? No.

Instead of assuming or these, just seeing it as another death, I think, I will look at it in another way….It could be me…being the departed…occurring on those obituaries pages, being talked of as no more…yeah it could be me.

Death doesn’t choose, it can happen to anyone. To children or adults, old or young, sick or healthy, rich or poor, literate or illiterate, educated or uneducated, religious or irreligious, saints or sinners, the next death could be anyone, and anyone includes me.

Someone’s demise brings me to the realization of the probability of my own mortality. I am just  a mortal being and needless to say, no exception from what is ultimately to happen…it could be me…some day…it’ll be me…

©Felicity

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Koos Faro
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 23:30:43

    Very clearly written. It calls for accountability on how it will be if you yourself will be the one who died: It could be me…
    It also calls us to be more aware of what, to us unknown, people go through as a loved one dies.
    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

