Clean Enough To Die?…

 

Loss

One loses things and people. People die and they are no more on the face of this earth. Things get destroyed to point of no redemption-die in their own way, like what happened to my thermos yesterday. It hurt me so much losing that flask that served me well for so long. If I were to be asked, I’d have loved to have it with me always, but, ‘it was mine and it broke/ ‘died’…’

Why, Only When….

My questions is why did it have to break just after I had done a through cleaning work on it? I remember there were occasions that flask had escaped breaking narrowly. It had slipped severally,it had been on transit  enough times, for the four years I was in University, in my college suitcase which was often mishandled while traveling via public means of transport to and from Campus , yet all this times it remained intact.

A Thought From this ‘Clean Break’

I’ve heard people say how they’ve  gone through ‘near death’ experiences often times referred to as ‘cheating death’. The near death scenario then bring about total transformation in the individual. After coming face to face with one’s own mortality, the person makes haste to ‘clean up’ their acts to be ‘ready’ for it… It appears one is presented with a chance to be cleansed…the one total cleansing that comes from above….cleaning up every part of a person, which may be like bringing all that they are into separate parts to get the job done…I think it’s God’s way of giving one an opportunity to die clean….

As for my flask, I had washed it with quality dish-washing soap and washing pad. While it comes to people, Godchose  the very best cleansing agent He could find/think of, what He had…the blood of  His own Son Jesus Christ which utterly cleanses blotting out any ‘dirt’ thus giving one a chance to die clean….with this cleansing, I’m made to believe one is Clean Enough to Die….and oh how one becomes missed by those left behind…they can’t stop saying of her/his good deeds especially after the ‘cleansing’….’Oh, what a loss!’…they cry…This reminds me of a certain hymn- ‘Are you washed, with the blood? With the soul cleansing blood of the lamb?…Are your garments spotless are they white as snow? Are you washed with the blood of the lamb…?’

These were just random thoughts triggered by my broken/ ‘dead’  flask…..which waited until the owner had so cleansed it for it to be no more….

©Felicity

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Koos Faro
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 16:18:30

    A very nice comparison between your thermos that was cleaned and our lives that need the cleansing of sin by the blood of Jesus!! In fact, cleaning the old is dying to start something new. This applies to us, like the thermos.
    “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. Now all things are of God, who has reconciled us to Himself through Jesus Christ” 2 Cor 5:17+18a

    Reply

  2. Andrés
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 19:52:06

    Once I broke the handle of a white coffee mug that I had treasured for years. I used it for tea and coffee while working a night shift job. It was precious to me.

    I had just finished a long night shift and it broke on my way home in the morning.

    I actually cried for a moment. Isn’t that ridiculous? In retrospect, the issue was much bigger than just some broken china…

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 16:12:28

      Thanks for digging into my archive blogs…
      At times, things are not just things…one develop personal attachment to some, their loss cause so much pain…it’s like a part of someone is gone…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

