All’s Well That Starts Well…

 

It was a day we had been looking forward to, a very significant day on the calendar of the Ladies Ministry (Women of Impact), at Parklands Baptist Church, Nairobi, Kenya. The day set for starting the first session this year, of the Women of Impact (WOI) Bible Study.

Earlier this year, I was among those given the responsibility of preparing for the Bible Study, which include, getting the registrations of to-be WOI Bible study members, getting to-be BS leaders (WOI Mothers), grouping the registrations, communications, among other duties. For the past couple of Sundays I have been at the WOI registration desk, getting the new registrations after both first and second services at Church while answering all the queries concerning WOI. Meaning I had to be at Church quite early and be there till late. Last Sunday was the last day of registrations and it’s the day we got the most registrations, after I presented the poem ‘A woman of Impact’. I imagine it was a motivator and an inspiration.

Following last Sunday, it has been quite a busy week for me getting everything in order, doing the groupings, communicating with everyone via mail, text and phone, getting in touch with all other in my team ensure everyone does their bit of tasks, I mean, it they told me I’ll be the coordinator of the Bible Study and well, that is what I was up to, thus far, coordinating the preparation for this big day. We had to have everything in order so that the new members are impressed right from the start.

Come today Sunday 20th morning, I set off to church early enough since we had a meeting with the to-be BS moms/ leaders, before the Bible Study hour which is at 10:30-11:30 a.m – time between the first and second church service. Almost everyone was on time; again there I was getting in touch with those who were late, to know of their whereabouts. All was all set, the BS books, name tags, the meeting place, even the receipts for the booklets had been fore-written…Talk of working at being efficiency….saving on time…Our Senior mom- Pastor’s wife was impressed. All thanks to a great team of ladies at it together to make the day a success, who included Mary, Anna-Marie, Christina, Grace and I Felicity- definitely a winning team!

The WOI leaders had suggested that I don’t take a group, but then, some ladies had already fore -booked me as their mom-to take them through the Bible Study! I had no option but to take a group, not forgetting I already have two daughters who were given to me on the very day of our commissioning…In WOI, getting daughters/babies / mothering that fast is like a newly wed getting a baby right away! No problem…but blessings….I now have another eight (8) daughters! They were to be six, but then, there were other new BS registrations despite the deadline that was last Sunday. We couldn’t lock them out… There were in fact another nine (9) ladies who registered today, had to allocate them groups, distributing them among the already set groups. Mine was one of those to add to, since I had given myself six while others had ten members since they had two moms each. Now I’m looking for assistance, an assistant mom!!
Shortly after the meeting with moms to-be it was BS hour and so they became moms, I became mom amongst them- after meeting with the daughters.

All’s well that starts well, with God in it, it ends well too. This year’s first session of Women of Impact (WOI) Bible Study kicked off successfully, looking forward to building great WOI families.

I thank God for this opportunity in my life, to serve in the Ladies Ministry. Being quite new here, and being entrusted with all these responsibilities, isn’t just a ‘by the way’. I see it as a God’s appointment to be in all these. It’s my pleasure to share of my time and all in service. It’s all for Him who I live for. When my seniors go like, “Oh, thanks Felicity, we are so glad to have you around here. Thanks for all you do. Were it not for you…..”, pouring out words of appreciation and praise to me, I take it yes, with a grateful, “Thanks too. It’s my pleasure”,  then within me I go like “Dear Lord, that appreciation is for You, not mine. All that praise and glory is for You, it’s not by myself that I’m able to contribute my efforts in the much/little I’m able to do but it’s by You my Lord.”
As the day came to an end, I was just so grateful. It’s indeed great to be part of doing something whose positive results speaks volumes.

Women of Impact BS Book

Women of Impact Bible Study Book

For now, I look forward to the next Eight Weeks i.e 8 Sundays of mothering and coordinating the rest of the Bible Study days. I’m up for the responsibilities! I want to be a wonderful mom to my daughters…’Our mom’s the best!’ , that’s gonna be the song come the ‘All WOI BS families/groups  together day’- that should be the 4th Sunday from now….Looking forward to that day already….

©Felicity

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 09:23:16

    good work. keep up. this thing has really changed you. to server people and see them appreciate it is surely immensely rewarding

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 23:34:49

      Thanks D.G,
      Yeah, it’s re-defined me…
      I will keep at it, it’s all I do…being of service….
      I thank God for the PBC Ladies Ministry, via which I serve Him…I don’t wanna try think my life without it….without all the wonderful ladies I interact with….

      Blessings to you dear…

      Reply

  2. Koos Faro
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 13:47:27

    You can really write a wonderful report. With all the details! It is as if a picture comes to life for those who take time to view (to read) the picture…. It is a good and responsible work you can do now, by the grace of God in which you stand. I am reminded of Ephesians 2:10 “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” I pray that God’s wisdom will guide you in all your tasks with peace, joy and understanding.
    Looking forward to read more about ‘being a mom among them’, ‘finding an assistent mom’, ‘mothering and coordinating’ and ‘All WOI BS families/groups together day’….
    Many blessings!

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 23:41:05

      Eph 2:10 is our key verse in this Year’s theme vision, which is the Year of the Lords Re-Creation.
      I’ll keep posting my journals which make stories…
      Blessings to you to.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

