Memories are Made of This….

 

At times it’s like I’m blank, not sure of what to write….In spite of that, a date with my baby, my Blog is a must.

The other day, I removed my photo albums from the shelf they’ve been in for such a long time. Flipping through the pages of one of my High School albums, I saw a folded paper, already discolored! I quickly unfolded it to see what was there, only to find something I had written so many years ago, as a teenager, back in my High School days. It took me down memory lane….

I’m glad to have come across that piece, which will make it as a post here.

My dear youths,
Watch your ways,
Be wise,
Make right choices
People will advice you,
But it’s you to decide,
Know yourself,
Choose what’s best
Aim at being the best,
Do the best you can,
Anywhere you can,
To achieve the best you can,
Be careful of peer pressure,
Stand firm on your ground,
Set out your goals,
Figure out your route,
For a failure to plan,
Is a plan to fail…

© Felicity ‘@FlicShis

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CRY ME AN ONION
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 19:12:53

    Nice. Check the rest of your photo albums. You may find another poem. Cheers

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Feb 19, 2011 @ 22:35:59

      Haha! Thanks.
      There were several on that paper…I’m sure I would get so many others if I were to lay hands on all my scrap books and papers…
      Cheers! To lines of advice written so many years ago by me as a teenager…!

      Reply

  2. Koos Faro
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 19:23:33

    That’s nice! In your younger years you were already very good with poetry! And not only poetry, but also the content is very mature and caring towards the young, including yourself.
    Best regards.

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Feb 21, 2011 @ 00:06:32

      I think poetry has been a hobby all through, though I haven’t done much of it all these years. Those lines were basically directed to me….talk of soliloquies…There are endless stories behind that….I never like got to share them….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

