The Day That Was…

 

The day came to pass, the day that was my Birthday, 1st February. Yesterday was the day. I did mark it in what I think is the best way I could.
All alone at the place I call home for now- putting up with my sister- I had to do something that I will remember the day by. As I mentioned in the post coming before this, it appears no family member remembers my Birthday, and I decided not to remind anyone. I do not like having to feel like I am trying to rub something on them. I really do not understand my family…it’s not anything close to what I here being referred to as a close knit family and so I learnt to survive early enough doing things that interest me all alone…that’s a story for another day.
Right now my mind is on what I got to do on my Birthday, which is as follows.

  • I stayed in bed long enough in the morning, having slept at my usual odd hours past 1am
  • I woke up to nice morning devotion before anything else. I usually use the ‘Our Daily Bread’ devotional as guidance for the day’s start devotion. Today’s message was ‘God is at Work’. The text began like ‘We always crave change in a New Year….’, felt like it was just the message for me given it’s my New Year’s day, even if it was talking in reference to the past month of January.
  • Checked into social Networks starting with twitter followed by facebook, these are my two active accounts though the activity on the former overtakes the latter by far, I have accounts in so many other social networks though I’m rarely there, talk of StumbleUpon, Linkedin, Tagged,Badoo,Netlog e.t.c
  • Having had a start on the social networks, I could then have my morning coffee cup.
  • The girl in me then told me to do some self pampering, just to look fabulous on my Birthday, even though I had decided to spend the whole day indoors. That I did and results were great, I even put on some new dress I haven’t been in since it was bought.
  • In a very cheerful mood, I spent a great deal of time just feeling good as I rehearsed on some poetry presentation recital I want to perform on Sunday, singing and dancing in the house.
  • Enough of speaking aloud and singing, it was time to get down to something else. I had purposed to spend the day with God, spending quantity and quality time with him, so, it followed time for another Bible study from my ‘Women of Faith’ Bible, entitled ‘Uncharted Waters’, and Prayers session,
  • Bye the time I completed that, it was already far into the afternoon. I got busy on social networks again, happy for the ‘Happy Birthday Felicity’ Posts decorating my wall and timelines as I responded to them and posted my Birthday thoughts roll as my updates. Besides being on the social networks, I wrote my blog post for the day, and posted it. It’s been a while since I posted that early. I think with this new year, I will not be waiting till late night to write, I will be doing it during the day.
  • By the time I was done with all these and checking stuff on the net, dusk was falling, my day was coming to an end in the next few hours. I just whiled away the evening hours doing nothing in particular, however, I cooked some food, good food- beef stew, vegetables and roast potatoes, though after having cooked I didn’t have the appetite to eat, so I didn’t eat, downed a coffee cup instead!
  • The evening hours rolling by, I got to get to bed- my favorite place- where I get to be with my companions , https://felicityshiro.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/my-companions/ ,  for the night lap with them.
  • With that my day was as good as gone.

That is how I marked my Birthday. That’s just me, I’m used to being in my own company and all the hours will somehow get used up well. I can never be lacking in stuff to do when alone.
I did not have a party not even a Birthday cake, but I believe I spent my day in the best way I could and it was fulfilling to me. My present from He who is most High being Peace.
May this Year that just began be a great year in every sense of that word- GREAT. I am very hopeful, everything will be okay.

There is a verse that I came across and took hold of as I dug into the Bible: Isaiah 30:21

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

I will be alert to hear that voice, whose Guidance, Lead, Directive, I so need whenever, wherever for all my days.

Cheers!! Here is; To God!, To  Felicity!, To Another Year! To Hope! To…..etc.!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Koos Faro
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 19:48:37

    ‘The Day That Was’ – What a great record of your daily program yesterday! It’s really an exciting story about someone who can think and write very detailed. Whilst reading, you might want to look around the corner to see it for real. Your Birthday was worth to be celebrated. Praise God for His gift and presence: Peace – Shalom – all we received, have or need through and in Christ Jesus!! Our loving Heavenly Father will always be with you.
    God bless you Felicity.

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 06:50:25

      It’s great pass time, writing about what one does, it kind of keeps one company and a therapy of sorts especially when one spends all time indoors accompanied by just things…I like it

      Reply

Leave a Reply

