What a Year It’s Been!

 

31st January. Not only is it the end January, it’s is also the day I mark the end of another ‘My Year’. It should to me be like what 31st December is all around, bidding bye to the Year that has been and ushering in the New Year, yeah that’s what it is. As my year comes to an end, I get into a reflective mood into what has been in the past year of my life. These reflections rouse mixed feelings within hence I’m neither overly excited nor saddened. I let recollections of taking stock of what has been just take their course in taking me back into days and things past.

My Year was nothing close to easy. It has been a year which so far in my life I would rate as the most challenging and most difficult. All through the year, it is like life decided to throw at me all the bitter and sour most lemons plus limes from the all the trees in the world, and all other bitter things it would afford. As a result, I know what utter sadness, pain, hurt, loss, wretchedness, unending tears flow, are. If before this year that has been I thought I knew what stress and depression are, I was so wrong because the reality of it was brought about within the past year. Sometimes, I was brought to a point of such distress and sorrow, downrightly on the edge, waking up to face another day felt unbearable.

Amazingly, I’m still around and strong, with the honors of seeing another year of my life come to an end and another start. What to attribute to it but to He who gives life and He who sustains? Through all the tribulations I have been through, I can surely attest to God’s presence, even at the point when I got to ask like David, “My God, why have you forsaken me?’. I rehearsed the words of Jeremiah 29:11 ‘For I know the plans I have for you, plans of welfare and not of evil, plans to give you a hope and a future’. Talking this words to myself with all the situations surrounding, I have been like ‘really?’ , ‘Why all these then?’ ‘Do I have to go through it all?’ Seemingly endless questions have flowed in my mind, but some how, a calmness comes and covers it all, like an assurance all will be well.

God is good to have seen me through the year that has been. My trust is in Him who holds my life in His hands. During what seemed like the darkest of times, He has been my strong hold and continues to be. I strongly believe in the words of Romans 8:28 ‘All things work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose’. As by His grace I have endured it all, I want to believe all the suffering and pain will turn to my good by and by. It’s all by His grace and mercies that I am here and doing this, living to tell where I’m coming from.

I will give thanks to God for He is good, and His mercies endure forever, I will yet praise and worship Him, He is all I got. His love for me has kept me going. Whatever the circumstances, I can still smile since I am always assured of His love for and He will see me through the darkest of times all to His glory. The joy of the Lord will always be my strength.

 

Cheers!! To another year ended!

©Felicity

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Koos Faro
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 00:04:18

    31st January – For sure, the year past must have been a difficult one for you!! Full of disstress and sorrow, as you write. Without going into details, I would say that victory and a good view prevails in what you’re telling us. Reading this I think of Psalm 40:2 ‘He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, Out of the miry clay, And set my feet upon a rock, And established my steps’. Thank you also for quoting Jeremiah 29:11 ‘For I know the plans I have for you, plans of welfare and not of evil, plans to give you a hope and a future’. I want to thank you for sharing with all your readers this great (or Grace) testimony of victory. It is edifying and worth to read!! It glorifies God who is The Reason for your existence. In the past year He helped & sustained you although some days were nearly unbearable. Blessed assurance – In the new year He will continue in helping & sustaining you according to Psalm 23 and many other promises out of His Word!
    God bless you very much and a Blessed & Happy Birthday!!!!

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 00:24:22

      Thanks,
      It’s surely by God’s grace I am here and with the confidence and courage to share bits of me on this space. The Holy Scriptures got a word for all situations and especially so scriptures for difficult times. But as we are told ‘But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere.’ ~2Cor 2:14
      It’ s through testimony that one confidently testifies for Christ that God may be glorified.
      God Bless

      Reply

Leave a Reply

