2010 Most Important Accomplishment

2010 was an year of a kind. There were enough climaxes and anticlimaxes in my life. It is like experiencing some of the best things life can offer followed by loss of the same. With all the highs and lows, I somehow made it through, by God’s grace, and thankfully I’m here, experiencing 2011.
Looking back,I can point out all 2010 happenings, they are so fresh in my mind it’s like it was just yesterday.
Amidst all the twists and turns, some important things happened, things which, to say the least, shaped me and their impact will remain embedded in me forever.
Some days ago, I wrote about a divine resolution I had in 2010, whose realization needed some divine intervention. It follows that the fulfillment of this divine resolution turned out to be my greatest accomplishment of the year 2010.
The divine resolution was: Reading through the Holy Bible. Succeeding in this was a tall order for me, hence the need for some divine will to do it. Well, it came to pass, as soon as I had started, I got totally absorbed and before the Year ended, I had finished reading this BIG book.

My reading through this book day by day was an eye,mind,soul opener. I did not just read the Bible, it is like it was reading me as well. In it’s reading me, it utterly won me over into leading me.It is written:’For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.’~Hebrews 4:12 NLT. It’s power really did it’s work in touching and transforming me, and continue to do so. It has become my daily manual and I don’t want to think how life was before coming to the knowledge of what is written in this wonderful book. Reading it first hand and not just hearing of it has been so  influential.

Elsewhere it is written: ‘All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.’~2Timothy 3:16 NLT True to this verse, the Words within this Holy Book have taught me and continue to teach me directing me in every way.

The Bible: The Book that lay unread, has become the Book most read. I will remember 2010 for this accomplishment, not for any other. I will tell of it at every opportunity, and with 2011 at hand, I hope to walk in faith and learn more and more. The Bible is the one Book you may get to read through but never really finish reading. You don’t return it to the bookshelf, no, you find that you need it at the nearest of reach.

©Felicity

Leave a Reply

