The Book That Lay Unread

I had had this book for as long as I can remember. Though, I never took time to read it. It lay at the bottom of the stack, gathering dust. Severally I took it from its position, but somehow, I never got to read it. I would then return it where it seemed to belong, to continue filing up space, and it continued to lie there unread. Many a new books I bought and others I borrowed, which I read cover to cover before they would find their way to the book shelf, to pile up atop others, but this book lay there unread. It was the biggest of them all, conspicuous for its size, but still it lay there unread. These other books looked more interesting because of their colorful covers and weren’t intimidating in terms of size. Besides they were an easy read, or so I thought, given the various attempts to read this BIG book that had been there all days, which all failed since I couldn’t seem to comprehend anything from it, despite being the reader I was. Its writing just somehow seemed very complicated. If this book could just talk, it could have long complained of its being neglected for it lay there for indeterminate time, unread. This book is the Bible.

Women Of Faith Bible

I Love this Bible

The ardent reader  that had always been me mysteriously lost interest in reading the other books (novels of all genres), of which I never lacked supply of. My lack of zeal for reading my usual books  puzzled me since books have always been my greatest pastime. These happenings kind of further affirmed the divineness of that which I had stated as my resolution, since all the while, the nagging thoughts of reading the book that lay unread from beginning to end were so live.

As a result of total commitment to accomplishing what I said I would do, coupled with the back-up urging on within, I got to read the book that for so long, had lay there unread. The moment I got the hang of it, it became a sure ‘unputdownable’. It was never to be taken back to lay on the shelf like its counterparts, it became a daily read, always close, reachable at any time. It knows no more dust, as it isn’t allowed to sit around long enough to gather that.

Thumbs up for the book that lay unread, it is like it knew it’s time would come, and there would be no time for any other not related to it.

 

 

© Felicity ‘@FlicShis

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. conrad
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 03:02:53

    Awesome!

    The bible has so many treasures in it. Every day i am totally amazed with something new.

    God is Awesome!

    Reply

    • FlicShis
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 01:38:13

      I’m glad to have found interest to read the Bible, I’m very thankful to God for this wonderful book. I just can’t believe what I was missing, neglecting the Bible.

      Reply

  2. Kim
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:39:08

    Great! and I relate so much to what u wrote.

    Reply

  3. FlicShis
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 23:08:42

    Hi Kim,

    Thanks. I had to write this. I even didn’t exhaust my story.
    Glad to hear someone -you- relate with this.

    Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

