Christmas 2010, How it was for me

I had looked forward to this year’s Christmas weekend. It was to be a Christmas with a difference, of a kind. Set apart from all other Christmas celebrations I’ve ever had, for all the Christmases that have been, which are as many as my age. I am so glad for my present liberty. I’m happy that long gone are the days when, what to do, what should be, where to be, was to be dictated.  With that in mind I was set to have it my way, it was set to be a great one in it’s own unique way.

Christmas Eve

For all past years, I heard of Christmas Eve church service/ carols night, but I never had a chance to attend. This year round, there was the opportunity, with no hindrance to attend. In no way was I going to miss it! It was well diarized in my mind and I indeed looked forward to it.

The 24th December came, the hours passed by as I anticipated for the evening. Soon, Christmas Eve was at last with us. I set off for Church early enough, I didn’t want to miss a single second of the whole event of  the  ‘Christmas Eve Worship Experience.

The evening kicked off at a high note, and kept at that, a climax from beginning!

The music was amazing, led by a wonderful youth team, who all looked lovely in their costumes for the occasion. True to its word, it was really a wonderful Christmas Eve Worship experience, all very well coordinated.

The Christmas story retold and acted out was amazing, dubbed the ‘The Makuti Sofa’, simply put, a show of creativity.

Time came and the curtains were drawn for the evening performance. It was well over half an hour after the stipulated ending time, but it seemed as if it ended too soon. It appeared like everyone wanted more. It wasn’t a disappointment, not even for a split second.

I never had an experience such as this before. As I was there following the proceedings, I really felt that Christmas had meaning, thanks to my prevailing status religious and spiritual wise. I can only thank God for such an opportunity to attend a Christmas Eve service, the first in my life. It’s all for His glory.

 

. The music was amazing, led by a wonderful youth team, who all looked lovely in their costumes for the occasion. True to its word, it was a Christmas Eve Worship experience. It was all well coordinated.

Time came and the curtains were drawn for the evening performance. It was well over half an hour after the stipulated ending time, but it seemed as if it ended so soon. Appeared like everyone wanted more.

©@FlicShis

Leave a Reply

